EuroComment has for 19 years published electronic briefing notes on every meeting of the European Council. In the course of this period, further publications have been added to the list which in 2016 will be as follows.

1. Pre-summit briefings (6 to 9 per annum depending on number of meetings)

Issued on the eve of each meeting of the European Council or the Euro Area Summit, these notes review and explain the agenda and predict the likely outcome.

2. Preliminary evaluations (6 to 9 per annum depending on number of meetings)

These notes of between 15,000 and 30,000 words apiece appear 3-6 weeks after each meeting of the heads of state and government and provide a comprehensive analysis of the discussion and its outcome. Based on oral and documentary sources which are not normally available, they provide a unique and authoritative insight into decision-making at the heart of the EU.

3. Occasional essays

This series provides an outlet for somewhat longer reflections on the EU and the Euro Area by Peter Ludlow and some of EuroComment’s close associates. The number of publications each year is by definition unpredictable.

The frequency of European Council meetings has delayed the attempt to launch a retrospective journal as advertised earlier.

Other Councils

We should like to extend the coverage of EU councils to those which cover economic and financial affairs, foreign affairs and justice and home affairs. We are still looking for writers with the necessary experience and access who would have the time to produce the appropriate quality of work.